New York’s personal injury law firmClick For Your Free Consulation
NYC Personal Injury Lawyer » New York Personal Injury Blog » FAQs: Car Accident Reports in New York
Posted in Car Accidents on September 6, 2022
It’s normal to have unanswered questions after a car accident. Below are answers to some of the most-asked questions regarding car accident reports in New York.
Yes. Under New York law, you are required to file an accident report for collisions involving injury, death, or property damage of more than $1,000.
The sooner you file your report, the better.
In the state of New York, you have ten days from the date of the accident to file an accident report. Failure to file your report within the allotted time can result in your license being suspended until you submit a completed report.
Immediately after the accident, dial 911 and tell the police what happened.
Later, you should also fill out a Report of Motor Vehicle Accident form and file it with the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV).
Drivers may have additional duties aside from filing an accident report, depending on the type of accident:
Car accidents are serious events frequently marked by complicated circumstances. As such, accident reports are crucial for investigating and resolving them fairly.
Under some circumstances, you may face suspension of your driver’s license for failing to report an accident. New York law requires drivers to report all accidents resulting in injury, death, or property damage greater than $1,000.
Furthermore, it’s illegal for any driver to leave the scene of an accident that involves injury or death. If either driver abandons the scene, they could face serious legal repercussions.
Upon arriving at the scene, police officers will survey the area, speak to the drivers and available witnesses, and put together a narrative of what occurred.
When they have all the details they need, they’ll type up an official police report, also sometimes known as a collision report. These reports contain all the information that the officers collected during their investigation.
Police reports often play a pivotal role in the success or failure of car accident claims.
Because your collision report contains important details regarding your accident, it constitutes firm legal evidence. This evidence can help answer pressing questions about the incident, including what happened and who was at fault.
You can obtain a copy of your police report online, by mail, or in person by contacting or visiting your local police department.
If you have additional questions or concerns regarding your car accident report, an experienced car accident lawyer can provide you with the assistance you need.
A licensed attorney can help you report your car accident if you have not already done so yourself. They can also request a copy of the collision report from your local police department on your behalf.
Car accident attorneys personally handle the most delicate — and often vital — parts of your claim, such as determining liability and calculating damages. Your collision report can serve as a guide for your lawyers and provide foundational evidence to support your claim.
If you’ve been involved in an automobile accident in New York, consider seeking the aid of a qualified car accident attorney to complete your accident report and make sure your interests are protected.
If you need legal assistance, contact the New York City car accident lawyers at Law Offices of Jay S. Knispel Personal Injury Lawyers at your nearest location to schedule a free consultation.
We have two convenient locations in New York:
Law Offices of Jay S. Knispel Personal Injury Lawyers – New York City Office
450 7th Ave #409
New York, NY 10123
Law Offices of Jay S. Knispel Personal Injury Lawyers – Brooklyn Office
26 Court St Suite 2511
Brooklyn, NY 11242